When I Shall Be Free

 

The resident headache returns, to my utmost chagrin.

It strikes with the force of a thousand arrows.

The petulant depression slowly but surely creeps in.

It lurks in my mind, a thief in the shadows.

The darkness spreads, strong and overwhelming.

It demands to be in control.

The pull of the abyss, horrendously imposing.

It threatens to consume, to overthrow.

I’m tired of the war within, but I refuse to surrender.

To become a slave of my mind, I refuse to consider.

And I ponder, do I not have the solution at hand?

Could I not end it once and for all, with my very hands?

Perhaps I’ll go to sleep…. and leave it all behind.

Perhaps in oblivion….  I’d have peace of mind.

 

             Ibrahim Adey

One thought on “When I Shall Be Free

Leave a Reply

